& party time

Guys, I have a one-year-old. I know, right? I’m no longer the dad of a little baby anymore. I’m a few small steps away from having a toddler.

This isn’t a development as of today, of course. Squatch turned one last Friday, I’ve just been neglectful and haven’t updated this thing in over a month.

Uh, sorry about that.

But I’ll make it up to you with lots of pictures, because Saturday we had a PAAAAAR-TAY! Get your Pinterest buttons ready—Karli did most of the planning, so you’re going to want to take these ideas.

It being his first birthday and all, we didn’t really go too crazy. But when your wife’s a graphic designer, you don’t half-ass things, either. Like invites:

I changed the info a little because I figured my wife and in-laws wouldn't want their info broadcast all over the internet to the dozen of people who read this.

I changed the info a little because I figured my wife and in-laws wouldn’t want their info broadcast all over the internet to the dozen of people who read this.

For the noobs, the narwhal thing is an inside joke for me and Karli. She also designed some banners for the tables and Felix’s chair.

FoodTable

CakeTable

SquatchChair

My stepmom made the cupcakes in that second photo, and that blue drink is some raspberry lemonade I made. It’s super good, and it’s really easy. Mix equal parts Country time lemonade and blue raspberry Kool-Aid. I threw in some lemons and raspberries for good measure. Karli and I also made that hat in the last picture. Because we’re full of the awesome. And yes, that is a watermelon narwhal in the first picture, courtesy of my sister-in-law.

Squatch got his own special cake that Karli made. I gave it a little hat.

FelixCake

Then the fun started, and Squatch got to dive into that cake.

HappyBoy

Before

CakeFace

After

He didn’t really smash it like we were hoping. He has a little neat-freak streak in him. Afterward, it was time to attack the stack of presents. He got a little help from his Wumpy and his cousin.

MorePresents

Presents

Like we needed more stuff in his room.

Look at this stack of stuff! Like we needed more stuff in his room.

It was a pretty good time had by all, but it came on way too fast. I feel like I just got home from the hospital with this:

2012-07-03 04.58.15

Only I turn and see this:

VeryHappy

Slow down, kid. I’m soooooo not ready for this.

19 thoughts on “& party time

  1. Oh my goodness!!!!! Happy birthday Squatch! 🙂 Way too fast, I totally understand. And look at that darling toothy grin! Beautiful party, Karli (and you, and everyone else) did a great job!

    Reply
  2. Aw! I love it!! You guys put together a nice little shindig for your little man. June is good month for cool-ass boys. My little guy turned FIVE last Wednesday, and we too were partying on Saturday to a safari theme. He may be growing too fast for you, but Squatch makes one heck of a cute one-year-old!

    Reply
    • June babies are indeed the best. One of these days, he’ll get to choose his own party theme, but for now he gets whatever we think is cute or funny.

      Reply
  3. I am SO LATE! (Things have been a little busy over here…lol) Happy Birthday, Squatch! Congrats, Ande and Karli on keeping a person alive for a whole year! We all made it! I can’t believe that all the members of our baby gang are TODDLERS!

    Reply
  4. Happy Birthday!! I wish I ould have been there to enjoy in person. Fantastic pics!! Thanks you guys…fun in Kansas!! Until we meet again. =))

    Reply
  5. Pingback: How I Spent My Summer Vacation, Part 1 | & squatch makes three

Leave a Reply

