& a mediocre host

We made him put on his best get-up for the guests.

We made him put on his best get-up for the guests.

So I finally achieved a lifelong dream I never knew I had until the second I got the email from WordPress—I’ve been Freshly Pressed. Welcome to all of you who’ve come over because of it, and I hope you’ll stick around and see what the internet was made for read some of my other stuff. It’s pretty good, if I do say so myself. And for those few who’ve already recognized my greatness struggled through this crap since the beginning been reading this blog for a while, please be on your best behavior so you don’t scare away the guests. Don’t worry, I still love you just the same.

As a quick little follow up to the Freshly Pressed post, I should probably mention that the dog barfed up a whole bunch of that cake the other morning. I’ll save you the graphic visual, but let me paint a little word picture for you—think melting strawberry ice cream. With mystery chunks.

I figured a little orientation might be in order for those of you who care to take it. You might be wondering what a Squatch is and who the hell I am, so it couldn’t hurt to check those out. You might also want to “Like” me on the Facebook and “Follow” me on the Twitter because occasionally my nonsense spills over to those venues. And, if you really love irony, I’m on the Pinterest.

Once you’re all caught up, you’re welcome to peruse the archives over there on the right. It’s easy enough to find stuff. If you’re like me, however, and you don’t enjoy wading through mounds of turds to find the diamond, here’s some help finding the good’uns:

The very beginning of it all [12/23/11] and telling our parents [12/23/11]
Early grandparent antics [12/28/11]
Thinking about names [1/15/12] and Discussing Squatch’s real name [10/15/12]
I guess at Squatch’s gender [2/13/12] and I’m proven completely wrong [6/29/12]
Sleeping is an uncomfortable [3/17/12] dangerous business [3/20/12]
Getting impatient (an attempt at webcomics) [6/21/12]
Squatch’s birth story, as told by Squatch: Part 1/Part 2/Part 3/Part 4 [8/31/12-9/3/12]
First thoughts on actual parenthood [7/3/12]
I talk about picture books  [4/19/12], and again [3/26/13]
Shopping recommendations for baby showers [12/5/12]
I’ve griped about Pinterest (and other stuff) before [12/10/12]
Babies are boring [10/16/12]
Squatch’s first Christmas [12/30/12] and half-birthday [1/8/13]
Squatch tries rolling [10/26/12] and standing up [4/4/13] and getting sick [2/5/2013]
I turn 30 (presents still being accepted) [11/29/12]

If you like a lot of self-deprication and pictures of an adorable baby, you might like it around here. And if you like it around here, you might like checking out some of the other dad bloggers out there, which you can find in the Facebook Dad Bloggers page*. I don’t have a regular schedule of posting, but I try to post as often as my kid and job allow me to. If you stick around, I promise to try to work on almost getting better about it, maybe.

*If you’re a dad blogger yourself, you should join our FB group, if you haven’t already.

Thanks for coming by. Hope you enjoyed your stay, and take a goodie bag on the way out.

What? No goodie bags? Oops.

32 thoughts on “& a mediocre host

  1. Congrats from one of the FreshlyPressed horde! LOVE me some buttercream – that cake looks amazing, your wife is talented! Cute baby too – my kids are 3 & 17 months & appear occasionally on my blog. Can very much identify with the “raised expectations” that stem from the evil Pinterest. Looking forward to reading more!

    Reply
    • Thanks! All those points are very true. I couldn’t agree more. I’ll have to check out your blog when all this hoopla dies down.

      Reply
  2. I saw Emily’s post on Facebook this morning about you getting FP’d – hooray for you!!! 🙂 I should be getting that yarn in today or tomorrow – then it’s SQUATCH TIME!

    Reply
      • You hadn’t already?! I can’t believe you d—okay, I’m over it. Can’t stay mad at the nicest person on the internet for more than 4.3 seconds.

  3. yay, Yay, YAY!!! Congratulations! I’m proud I can say that I knew you before you were famous. And I’m with you on the not knowing you always wanted to be FP’d until you got that email….so true.

    Reply
  4. That is smashing news! Even better, you gave me a reason to use the word smashing. Shmashel-tov! Okay, it’s clearly time for me to end this comment.

    Reply
      • I guess it probably should have been “smashel-tov.” And I will be expecting proper footnote citations every time you use it, since I’m sure I’m the first person in the entire history of the world to ever use that word. I’m a mad creative genius.

  5. For what it’s worth, I’m not going to offer you congratulations. I’m insanely jealous and contemplating whether or not to terminate my subscription to your blog, and sever our Facebook friendship.

    ((takes all his toys to go play by himself in the other room))

    -DD

    Reply

Leave a Reply

