& a happy squatchmas

Squatch’s first Christmas was an exciting time for everyone. So exciting, in fact, that Squatch himself has been bored the last couple days by comparison. He got to see a ton of people and skipped a bunch of naps, which means sleep schedules got messed up. Mine and Karli’s especially.

To help make this easier on the tired old daddy, we’ll take a look at Squatch’s Christmas adventures through photos.

So do you have my bottle?

So do you have my bottle?

After several false starts, Squatch got to meet Santa. He then spent the rest of the holiday looking at everyone with a white beard and saying “I have met Santa and you, sir, are no Santa.” Okay, I might have been saying it for him. It was funny every time.

This hat and those glasses seem familiar. I just can't seem to place them.

This hat and those glasses seem familiar. I just can’t seem to place them.

We went to my dad and stepmom’s house on the Sunday before Christmas to hang out with that part of the family. Lots of cousins for Squatch to smile at, but he got too tired and cranky by presents time, so he slept through them all. Luckily, one of his cousins was more than happy to help open his presents.

This is awesome! I love colored paper!

This is awesome! I love colored paper!

On Christmas Eve, we hung out with my mom and stepdad at our place. Squatch got to hang out at home, go out for lunch, and open his first presents ever. As was to be assumed, he really loved the paper and bows. He thought his presents were awesome, too, and hanging out with Grammy is always cool.

Does this hat make my head look big?

Does this hat make my head look big?

On Christmas morning, Wumpy, Gram, and Squatch’s aunt Kellie came over. Lots more presents (mostly for Squatch), a deep dish pizza (not for Squatch), a long-awaited viewing of The Dark Knight Rises, and everyone was happy.

Oh! Em! Gee! AN ELEPHANT!

Oh! Em! Gee! AN ELEPHANT!

The thing about Christmas gifts is that getting age-appropriate ones for Squatch would be kind of boring. Six-month-olds don’t really get much cool stuff. So a lot of what people got him are actually too old for him, like the rocking elephant from Karli’s parents and the ride-along dog from my mom and the shape sorter from Santa. He thinks they’re incredibly cool, though. Or maybe I’m just projecting that because I think they’re cool. I have a feeling that, as he gets older, the age appropriateness gap will narrow. By the time he’s six, I’m sure he’ll be getting age-appropriate  gifts. If memory serves me correctly, a few years later the gap will head the other way and he’ll be getting some presents too young for him.  Those are the fun years. By the time he has his own kids, he’ll like the toys more than they do.

The couple days after Christmas, we hung out at the Plaza in Kansas City with Karli’s grandma and uncle, then went to a little get-together the next day so some of Karli’s cousins could meet Squatch. The last couple days we’ve all caught up on some much needed sleep. We should be ready to do this again by his birthday, I think.

Hope your holidays have been as great and tiring and drama-free as ours. Enjoy the new year!

Happy FeliXmas!

Happy FeliXmas!

12 thoughts on “& a happy squatchmas

  1. I remember Doodle about two months older than Squatch rolling away from the presents to just play with all of the wrapping paper. So much fun at that age! I’m glad you all got caught up on your sleep. Looks like Squatch had a perfect first Christmas. 🙂

    Reply
  2. Wumpy is the best name ever!! Thanks for the plethora of photos–you know my kids now really dislike you because I kept calling them over to look at Squatch, and, then, I’d stare pointedly at Anne and the SonInLaw. Yeah, you aren’t on their Nice List–sorry!

    Reply
    • As long as I can be of help. Hopefully they’ll never know where to find me because I don’t really want flaming dog poop on my step anytime soon.

      Reply
  3. I’m so glad to hear that y’all’s holidays were good. Felix is at a good age to enjoy all of it. C, on the other hand, got all stranger-dangery every time we introduced her to new(ish) people. It being Christmas, there were a lot of them.

    Reply
    • He’s starting to get that stranger anxiety stuff happening. Especially if they talk loud and get all up in his grill. Squatchy don’t play that.

      Reply
  4. Pingback: & a mediocre host | & squatch makes three

Leave a Reply

