& the freak-down: bailing on the okies

The Freak-Down

52 Days

Yesterday I mentioned the Big Thing that happened this week and that I’d talk about it today. It’s probably not as big of a thing as having a kid, but it’s still pretty huge. It’ll change our lives, that’s for sure.

I got a new job teaching at a school near Kansas City, so we’ll be leaving Oklahoma behind*. We’re sticking around here for a couple more months so Karli can keep her insurance and get a paycheck, which means that we’ll be heading up and moving out by the end of the summer. After we have Squatch.

*Sorry about the sly “I’ve got a secret” crap yesterday, but I couldn’t really announce it till I told my boss. You never know what gets around on the internet.

Yes, we’ll get the joy of moving with a newborn. I honestly have no idea what to expect or how the kid’s going to be able to handle it. Here’s a list of things I do know about moving with a newborn.

This is a no-no. At least not without proper packaging

  1. Don’t pack the baby in a box.

And that about covers it. Aside from that, we’ll get to figure it out as we go along. Karli said she read that it’s actually easier (in general) to move with a newborn than a baby who’s a little bit older.  It’s also supposedly easier to build a car engine than a nuclear reactor, but I can’t really do either of those. Perspective, I guess.

Our families are thrilled because we’re bringing their grandchild back to within a short drive instead of a whole-day trip down to the mountains. Oh, and we’re coming back too, I guess.

We’re thrilled because family will be nearby, as will Target, Chipotle, Jimmy John’s, and the rest of civilization.

I’m thrilled because I’ll be teaching four classes instead of seven or eight.

Squatch will be born here a few weeks before we move, which means it’ll never get the joy of remembering the shitty student apartment we lived in when it was born. It’ll also never get the chance to pick up the accent. We will, however, constantly ridicule remind Squatch that it’ll always be an Okie. No escaping your destiny, pal.

14 thoughts on “& the freak-down: bailing on the okies

  1. Congrats on the new job! Oklahoma is supposed to be a great state, and, all the good things listed make it even better. Yep, avoid packing the baby or leaving squatch behind, and you’ll be good. (I’ve locked a child in a car–I still can’t talk about it 20 years later–and she’s still pissed off over the entire event)

    Reply
    • It’s certainly pretty here. But that’s about all the good things that Oklahoma has going for it from our POV right about now. We’ll be glad to get to Missouri.

      Reply
      • FMD (F*ck Me Dead–my standard complaint when I’ve, well, effed up). Now you can see how my child was locked in a car–my not paying attention!! Actually, her father locked her in, but, again, long ago, still being blamed.

        I deeply apologize, and, I give you full permission to say whatever you want in a twisted up way on a comment on my measly little blog.

        I’m going to go stand in the corner now.

  2. That is awesome! I was just watching a program on tv today that was talking about how awesome Kansas City is. You better believe I’m going to be hounding you come next February for any info on job openings because B is already talking about quitting his school next year. I can’t really blame him.

    You are going to do fine moving with the baby. Just hire some movers to help you load and unload the truck.

    Reply
  3. Congratulations on the new job! And I think it makes sense that an infant would be easier to move with than a kid. Stick the baby in a sling and you’re good.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

