& all the words

This truck was not made to be used this way. It paid the price.

This truck was not made to be used this way. It paid the price.

So tomorrow Squatch is 17 months old*. It’s also Thanksgiving. I’m going to combine these two things into one post. Really, just watch.

*I know it’s not really a big milestone age or whatever, but I haven’t posted in a while and you take what you can get.

In the past couple weeks, Squatch has picked up a bunch of words and is using them pretty regularly now. This is a new development I’m pretty thankful for* because it means I have someone to talk to on Tuesdays and Thursdays when I’m home with him all day. Ok, so not really talk to because our conversations usually consist of him pointing at something and saying a word and me confirming that the word he used is indeed the correct word (or close to it).

*See, there’s the Thanksgiving part.

I’m a little bit too technologically-impaired/lazy/tired/inept/lazy to get a video of him saying all his words. So instead I’ll try to provide a little Squatch-to-English collection of his vocabulary thus far, in roughly chronological order of how he picked them up.

  • happyscream“Woah” = woah*
  • “Wow” = wow*
  • “Ma” = ball (it has since transformed into something like “mall”)
  • “Shoosh” = shoes
  • “Took” = Turk (our cat)**
  • “Shee” = shirt
  • “Car” = car
  • “Tay” = chair
  • “Took” = truck**
  • “Sauce” = socks
  • “Tees” = this***
  • “Fee” = fish
  • “Beep beep” = beep beep
  • “Waba” = robot****

*These two he’s actually been using for quite a while, and it still cracks our asses up anytime he says them.
**The words for “Turk” and “truck” are easily confused and basically the same thing. Context needs to be gleaned from what he’s pointing at.
***”This” is usually used as a question when he’s pointing at something and wants us to say the word for it.
****I’m most proud of this one. It’s an indication that I’m doing this whole parenting thing right. (He learned it from the chain pull in his ceiling light that I let him pull to turn out the light at bedtime.)

You’ll notice that “Mommy” and “Daddy” aren’t on the list. It’s not that he doesn’t know them—it’s that he never says them. At least not to us. Sometimes, when Karli gets home, he’ll run out from his room saying “mamamamamama” over and over again, but we can’t exactly tell if that’s just his default babble or if he actually knows what he’s saying. So I’m not counting them. Not yet.

It’s just the start of a new era, I know, and I’m sure some day when he’s fully become his mother’s son and will talk for the entire car ride from here to Minnesota, I’ll look back at this and regret the excitement I felt over his first few words, hoping for a few minutes of peace.

But not now. It’s been far too quiet around here during the days.

16 thoughts on “& all the words

  1. Oh yes, it just accelerates from here on in. Keep on recording those words, because he will know ZILLIONS in a few months.

    I remember learning to talk. Truly. And I know that children understand a whole load more than they can say. It is a bit like you or I trying to write using our feet – we know what we want it to do, but can’t make it happen. It’s the same with mouth sounds. Once he has worked out how to make the sounds, the words will come tumbling out of his brain.

    Reply
      • That time will come quicker than you think. I realised my lad had a large vocabulary and was trying to get them all down. But quicker than I could record them, he was adding new words so I just had to quit!

  2. Our 15 month old has quite a few words already, my personal favourite, “Uh oh” which he uses correctly and is so massively cute I can hardly stand it. Even when I know the “uh oh” is followed by the clean up of yet another Jonah related disaster. He gets away with the messes he makes because another one of his words is “Hi” which he shrieks at people with such astounding power and conviction, the reaction he gets from some people is just hilarious. He seriously makes “Hi” sound like a pterodactyl screech. Good times.

    Reply
    • Strangely enough, he hasn’t ever said “uh oh” or “hi,” even though we say those things all the time. He’s gotten into saying “huh?” a lot, and it’s kind of cute.

      Reply
  3. It’s just about a constant now in the car with Doodle. One of these days I’m going to invest in a tape recorder to record the outrageous conversations we have anytime we’re in the car. :) I’m so happy that Squatch is communicating so well with you guys, and I’m so happy to see you around here again.

    Reply
  4. Glad you wrote this stuff down. Because when he does start talking more and begins pronouncing words correctly, it’s going to make you a little sad. But this way you can always remember all the cute stuff that used to come out of his mouth.

    Thanks for linking up this week!

    Reply
  5. We really need to sit down and write down all of C’s words too. Toddler speak is one of the most amazing things I’ve ever encountered. For instance, C’s special word for “I love you endlessly” is “no.”

    Reply
  6. My 15mo says shoes, cheese, milk, and NO. I wonder if baby’s first words indicate what they love the most in life.
    The fun part is when they start swearing. My son (y’know, the one who wanted to name his younger sister “princess jesus”) says damn it all the time but he contends he’s not swearing because he says “damn it-bo-bam-it.” If you make it rhyme it isn’t a swear, he says.

    Reply
    • Squatch learned “cheese” this last week. And a few other things. Maybe I’ll float that rhyming swear thing by Karli and see if it passes.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

